RSS

ARC Review: No Flag by Liz Borino

18 Oct

18669672

 

Expected publication: October 23rd 2013 by Lazy Day Publishing

Summary: For Mike and Will, “No Flag” meant “come home alive”, but will their love survive what happens next?

Captain Mike Kelley does not ignore his intuition, so when sexy bartender Will Hayes captures his heart, Mike embarks on a mission to win him over to a Domestic Discipline relationship. Will accepts with one caveat: Mike must promise not to renew his Army contract. Mike agrees, and they spend a year building a life together, getting married, and starting a business.

Only days before their café’s grand opening, Mike receives news that threatens everything he and Will have built. The Army invokes the Stop Loss military policy to involuntarily extend his commission and send him back overseas. Will, left alone to cope with the café, must rely on the support of old friends who may be no longer be trustworthy. Through emails and Skype calls, Mike and Will keep their love and structure alive…until the day a horrific terrorist attack occurs on Mike’s outpost.

Mike awakens in a hospital with a devastating injury and no his memory of the attack. As the only survivor, Mike’s memory may be the key to national security. Mike struggles to cope with his injury and Will struggles to support the man who always held him up. Both fear they have lost their previous relationship. Will has Mike back rather than a folded flag, but in the aftermath of war, can they rebuild the life they had before? Especially when those closest to them may not have their best interests at heart?

**************************************************************************************************************************

Read from October 14 to 15, 2013
No flag means “Come back home safe and sound. I refuse to receive the folded flag on your funeral”. It means “I will take care of myself, I will be careful, I won’t be reckless”.One of the main characters is a soldier. Military and gay – is there a better mix of guilty pleasure for a sinful reader?

The book of Liz Borino surprised me on many levels. Enough to say that I forgot to check my percentage progress of reading and there was so many moments I was quite sure that the book was at its end. But no. The plot was maybe a little bit predictable, but good.

I was not very fond of Domestic Discipline relationship of the main characters – it’s not my cup of tea after all, and I had a moments when I was like “I would strangle him” or “Fold your goddamned clothes yourself” (the dominant had an OCD). But it was a good story, I’ve read it with pleasure. I didn’t love it, but I liked it enough to give it 3.5 stars rounded down.

Rating: 3/5
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 18, 2013 in reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
