RSS

ARC Review: Gifts of Honor: Starting from Scratch / Hero’s Homecoming Dualogy

27 Sep

Image

Expected publication: November 21st 2013 by Carina Press

Summary: I’ll be home for Christmas…

A batch of special Christmas cookies helps a wounded ex-Ranger remember the love of his life. A surprise phone call reunites a woman with the soldier who once broke her heart. There’s no place like home for the holidays, and there’s no better way to spend them than with the one you love.

Edited by Angela James, this anthology includes:

Starting from Scratch by Stacy Gail
Hero’s Homecoming by Rebecca Crowley

********************************************

Read from September 26 to 27, 2013


My copy was an ARC I received from the publisher for an honest review.

I have no idea how to rate this book. I’ll explain that later.

Sometimes I’m right in the kind of mood that makes me want to read a simple, angsty book and it has to be a quick read. I decided to give Gifts of Honor a try. There were two reason – the motif of damaged military hero coming back home, and southern setting.

The first story in this dualogy is Starting from Scratch by Stacy Gail and the plot follows the struggling of two protaginsts, Lucy Crabtree and Sullivan Jax, with coming to terms that they belong to each others. I will not provide spoilers, the story is simple and even the one detail would spoil the fun. But it’s very good story and I’ve read it with pleasure. If the book of Stacy Gail was the standalone novel, I would give it 3.5 stars rounded up.

The second book is Hero’s Homecoming by Rebecca Crowley. The main characters, Chris Walker and Beth Tate need to decide if they wanted be together or not after the breakup. I dare to say that the story surely had some potential, but it just seems shallow compared to the story of Stacy Gail. I would give it 2 stars.

So, that’s why I had no idea how to rate it. I just calculated the average.

Rating: 3/5
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 27, 2013 in reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
